Larry Hagman Omitted from Emmy-Awards Ceremony to Honor TV Greats that Passed On

Posted: Sep. 20th, 2013  |  By DailyLuxe News

So, who forgot J.R.?

How could actor Larry Hagman be excluded from a ceremony at the upcoming Emmy Awards that will honor the passing of luminaries of the TV industry since last year’s ceremony?

The actor that created the role of J.R. Ewing on the long-running TV show Dallas, the dastard everyone loved to hate, did not make the cut. Actors Jean Stapleton, James Gandolfini, Corey Monteith, Jonathan Winters, writer/producer Gary David Goldberg will be remembered at the ceremony.

While there is no plan here to start a clout war amongst deceased celebrities of TV land, this is a faux pas that the Emmy Awards’ folks may have trouble living down. A statement released by Emmys’ producer Ken Elhrich indicates that he stands pat with the decision. (Boo to you, too, Kenny!)

No matter what we do, there will be people who feel we had other options and could have done other things. In all candor, this becomes a producer’s option. And in this case, we selected these five knowing certainly others could be treated this way, but these were the five we chose.”